PowerTools Lite

PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Discussion about possible ongoing beta testing programs.

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby tullik » Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:42 pm

tullik wrote:On X64 Windows 7 HP with version 2.0.0.1022

Here are two small issues regarding the Backup Tool's main list:

    1. ...
    2. If a line's description is changed, the change shows in the list immediately. However, if you close the tool and start it again in the same session, the change no longer shows. It will show in a new session.

It is no surprise that exactly the same bug is in the current version of jv16 PowerTools. :wink:
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby siliconman01 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:51 am

jv16 wrote:
tompres1 wrote:[12:29:39 - Error]: Failed to remove "C:\Users\tomp\AppData\Local\Temp\FXSAPIDebugLogFile.txt"!


Seems like this file is protected against removing, so no need to list it. Starting with the next released version, the program no longer lists it. Thank you for reporting!


Please fix it in jv16 Powertools 2011 as well. :wink:
Platinum VIP License. A clean machine is a screaming machine! Windows 8.1 x64 Professional on Dell XPS 8700 SE; Windows 8.1 x64 Professional on MS Surface Pro tablet
siliconman01
Expert user
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:55 pm
Location: West Virginia USA

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby jv16 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:37 am

siliconman01 wrote:
jv16 wrote:
tompres1 wrote:[12:29:39 - Error]: Failed to remove "C:\Users\tomp\AppData\Local\Temp\FXSAPIDebugLogFile.txt"!


Seems like this file is protected against removing, so no need to list it. Starting with the next released version, the program no longer lists it. Thank you for reporting!


Please fix it in jv16 Powertools 2011 as well. :wink:


The programs share the same code base. So any bug that is fixed from PowerTools Lite is automatically also fixed from jv16 PowerTools, and vice versa.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby jv16 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:54 am

Leonardo wrote:
tullik wrote:On X64 Windows 7 HP with version 2.0.0.1022
.... Sometimes, redundant information is prefixed to the generated description..... I don't know if I can make it happen again, on purpose......

XP-SP3 with a clean install of version 2.0.0.1022. I did the following test, immediately after completion of this install:
1. CFMC with setting 'Normal scan policy' -> 'Fix' the found issues with a backup(1).
2. CFMC with setting 'One notch aggressive scan policy' -> 'Fix' the found issues with a backup(2).
3. Restored backup(2) and backup(1)
4. CFMC with setting 'Normal scan policy' -> 'Fix' the found issues with a backup(3).
5. CFMC with setting 'One notch aggressive scan policy' -> 'Fix' the found issues with a backup(4).

See the attached screenshot of the backup window, three backup descriptions got a prefix.
Clue/Coincidence?: In the Backups window title bar, the description "PowerTools2011[Beta]" is repeated several times too.



Thanks for the clue, this indeed caused the problem. The issue is now fixed, thank you for reporting!
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby jv16 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:58 am

tullik wrote:On X64 Windows 7 HP with version 2.0.0.1022

Here are two small issues regarding the Backup Tool's main list:

    1. Sometimes, redundant information is prefixed to the generated description. See the last two lines in the screen snip below. I don't know if I can make it happen again, on purpose.

    2. If a line's description is changed, the change shows in the list immediately. However, if you close the tool and start it again in the same session, the change no longer shows. It will show in a new session.


Both of these issues are now fixed, thank you for reporting! The bug number 2 also applied to jv16 PowerTools, the next released build of jv16 PowerTools also contains this fix.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby jv16 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:59 am

Here is the Change Log so far:

Code: Select all
Bug fix: Clean and Fix My Computer's description cannot be translated.
Bug fix: Main window icons do not show any tool tips.
Bug fix: The files ...\Cache\ProgramDirs.dat and ...\Cache\SearchDirs.dat can contain empty lines.
Bug fix: The program creates UserActionLog.txt, even as the User Action Log feature does not exist in the program's User Interface.
Bug fix: The File menu of the Backup tool contains two Close options, clicking the first Close actually executes the Print feature.
Bug fix: Opening a tool window many times in a row causes its window caption to contain duplicate data.
Bug fix: If you change a backup's description in the Backup Tool the change shows in the list immediately. However, if you close the tool and start it again in the same session, the change no longer shows. It will show in a new session.

Improvement: Improved the program's ability to find temp files.
Improvement: Main Window's Help menu no longer shows the Report Bug feature if you are running a beta level software. For beta level software, you should use the Report Bug feature under the Main window's Debug menu.
Improvement: The icons of the Main Window are now centered.


I think we are ready to release a second Beta version soon, after Beta2 it's probably time for the RC1.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

PowerTools Lite 2011 Main menu Minimum size

Postby Leonardo » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:50 pm

On netbooks with 10-11.6" display's the minimum size main window of Powertools Lite 2011 does not fit (vertically) on the display, even if small W7 icons are specified.
.
Netbook10.6_MainMenu cutoff.jpg
Netbook10.6_MainMenu cutoff.jpg (37.08 KiB) Viewed 885 times

.
Leonardo
Guru
 
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Main menu Minimum size

Postby jv16 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:43 pm

Leonardo wrote:On netbooks with 10-11.6" display's the minimum size main window of Powertools Lite 2011 does not fit (vertically) on the display, even if small W7 icons are specified.


You are correct, this is now fixed. The Beta2 will be released later today.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby tompres1 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:10 pm

Hi again,
i just ran JV lite again. it fixed all my errors but it only shows a 98% PC health and a 99@ registry health. Why doesn't it show 100% health after this? It's always done this in the past.
After i ran JV lite power tools. i ran JV power tools 2011 VIP version. Once again it fixed errors and still didn't show 100%. But this time it showed a discrepancy with a 99% PC health and 99% registry health. Why are these problems happening and are they fixable?
Tom P. :?
tompres1
New user
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta1

Postby tullik » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:26 pm

tompres1 wrote:Hi again,
i just ran JV lite again. it fixed all my errors but it only shows a 98% PC health and a 99@ registry health. Why doesn't it show 100% health after this? It's always done this in the past.
After i ran JV lite power tools. i ran JV power tools 2011 VIP version. Once again it fixed errors and still didn't show 100%. But this time it showed a discrepancy with a 99% PC health and 99% registry health. Why are these problems happening and are they fixable?
Tom P. :?

Those health indicators are unique to Macecraft. They are approximations, not absolutes.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta2

Postby tompres1 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:36 pm

sorry... just downloaded beta 2... started out with 87 PC health and 92registry health.. ended up with a 98 and a 99. same question...why isn't it showing 100% health after fixing my computer.
Tom P
tompres1
New user
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta2

Postby tullik » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:40 pm

tompres1 wrote:sorry... just downloaded beta 2... started out with 87 PC health and 92registry health.. ended up with a 98 and a 99. same question...why isn't it showing 100% health after fixing my computer.
Tom P

Same answer:

Those health indicators are unique to Macecraft. They are approximations, not absolutes.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta2

Postby tompres1 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:02 pm

OK i understand that they are approximations.. but ever since i have had JV powertools it has shown 100 % after i have run the software.. it you run JV and it fixes everything wouldn't you want the health to show 100% after that?
Tom P.
tompres1
New user
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta2

Postby tullik » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:34 pm

tompres1 wrote:OK i understand that they are approximations.. but ever since i have had JV powertools it has shown 100 % after i have run the software.. it you run JV and it fixes everything wouldn't you want the health to show 100% after that?
Tom P.

Ideally, that would be something.

However, much like body temperature, the reading can vary with time and events, as well as with the technology used to get the measurement.

Right now, on my x64 Windows 7 desktop:

    PTLite 2011 beta1 has PC at 100%, registry at 100%
    PTLite 2011 beta1 (*) has PC at 94%, registry at 92%

    PTLite 2011 beta2 has PC at 95%, registry at 97%
    PTLite 2011 beta2 (*) has PC at 94%, registry at 92%

    PowerTools 2011 has PC at 98%, registry at 96%
    PowerTools 2010 has PC at 98%, registry at 96%
    PowerTools 2009 has PC at 100%, registry at 98%

      (*) Separate vanilla installs done just a few minutes ago.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: PowerTools Lite 2011 Beta2

Postby jv16 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:23 pm

tompres1 wrote:OK i understand that they are approximations.. but ever since i have had JV powertools it has shown 100 % after i have run the software.. it you run JV and it fixes everything wouldn't you want the health to show 100% after that?
Tom P.


The differences are most likely caused by the fact that PowerTools Lite 2011 and jv16 PowerTools 2011 use a slightly different version of the Registry Cleaner engine. There has been a while since the last version of jv16 PowerTools has been released, and thus it contains a bit older version of the engine than PowerTools Lite 2011, which contains the most recent version.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Beta testing

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group