PowerTools Lite

*Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Discussion of the freeware program PowerTools Lite 2011.

*Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby fsr » Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:25 am

Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P
fsr
New user
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby jv16 » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:55 pm

Maybe in the future, at the current time we have no plans for that.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:29 am

fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

What exactly do you have in mind by "portable?" Unfortunately, without context, that word is rather ambiguous in computing ... :P :roll:

There may be a way you can do it yourself, depending on what you meant ...
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby jv16 » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:06 pm

tullik wrote:
fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

What exactly do you have in mind by "portable?" Unfortunately, without context, that word is rather ambiguous in computing ... :P :roll:

There may be a way you can do it yourself, depending on what you meant ...


The way I understood that was a version that is simply a single .exe file that you can run, no need for any installation or anything. Creating such version of the program (being jv16 PT or PT Lite) would be possible but very difficult.
jv16
Developer
 
Posts: 5942
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby Boofo » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:37 pm

jv16 wrote:
tullik wrote:
fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

What exactly do you have in mind by "portable?" Unfortunately, without context, that word is rather ambiguous in computing ... :P :roll:

There may be a way you can do it yourself, depending on what you meant ...


The way I understood that was a version that is simply a single .exe file that you can run, no need for any installation or anything. Creating such version of the program (being jv16 PT or PT Lite) would be possible but very difficult.

Basically portable means using an INI file instead of the registry. It can have numerous files as long as they are in the same directory structure and does not use the registry for any settings at all. PowerTools has been made portable numerous times on some warez sites.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Boofo
Advanced User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:59 am

Boofo wrote:... Basically portable means using an INI file instead of the registry. It can have numerous files as long as they are in the same directory structure and does not use the registry for any settings at all. PowerTools has been made portable numerous times on some warez sites.

By that definition, jv16 PT and PT Lite are both already more than portable. They do not require an .INI file or any settings in the registry.

jv16 wrote:
tullik wrote:
fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

What exactly do you have in mind by "portable?" Unfortunately, without context, that word is rather ambiguous in computing ... :P :roll:

There may be a way you can do it yourself, depending on what you meant ...


The way I understood that was a version that is simply a single .exe file that you can run, no need for any installation or anything. Creating such version of the program (being jv16 PT or PT Lite) would be possible but very difficult.

The solution in the next post does one installation to a portable medium. It can be plugged in to any computer in your house and used normally.

One advantage with PT Lite is your preferred window and column settings will be the same wherever you run it.

Similarly, the technique also works with jv16 PT and your preferred tools settings are the same wherever you run it.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:00 am

fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

It's not automatic, but you can easily make PowerTools Lite "portable" yourself. :P As follows:

A. Setup assumptions:

    1. The PC has Program Files on C:\
    2. You have plugged a memory stick with sufficient free space into a USB port and windows says it's on x:\ (x will vary)
    3. You have downloaded the PowerTools Lite installation package from the official Macecraft site
B. Making the installation portable:

    1. Create this empty folder: C:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite
    2. Create this text file: x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Settings\Directories.dat
    3. Use notepad to make it have this content:

    Code: Select all
    [ProgramDirs]
    Backups=C:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Backups\
    Cache=C:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Cache\
    Tasks=\Tasks\
    Snapshot=\Snapshots\
    Settings=\Settings\

    4. Run the installation package

      a. Specify x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite as the insallation target
      b. Do not create any "icons"
      c. If you wish, you may let the program run when finishing setup
    5. To run the "portable" program, navigate to x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\PTLite.exe and double click it
C. To run the "portable" PowerTools Lite on a different computer:

    1. Plug the memory stick containing the "portable" PowerTools Lite into a USB port
    2. Do B.1 above (only necessary the first time used on each computer)
    3. Do B.5 above (the drive letter will probably vary)
Note: the Backups and Cache folders are not portable. They stay on the computer to which they belong.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby Boofo » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:34 am

tullik wrote:2. Create this text file: x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Settings\Directories.dat
3. Use notepad to make it have this content:

Code: Select all
[ProgramDirs]
Backups=C:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Backups\
Cache=C:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\Cache\
Tasks=\Tasks\
Snapshot=\Snapshots\
Settings=\Settings\

4. Run the installation package

    a. Specify x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite as the insallation target
    b. Do not create any "icons"
    c. If you wish, you may let the program run when finishing setup
5. To run the "portable" program, navigate to x:\Program Files\PowerTools Lite\PTLite.exe and double click it[/list]
C. To run the "portable" PowerTools Lite on a different computer:

    1. Plug the memory stick containing the "portable" PowerTools Lite into a USB port
    2. Do B.1 above (only necessary the first time used on each computer)
    3. Do B.5 above (the drive letter will probably vary)
Note: the Backups and Cache folders are not portable. They stay on the computer to which they belong.


If you have to edit a file for each system you run it on and the backups are on the computer and NOT the flash drive, that is not even close to being portable.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Boofo
Advanced User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:50 am

Boofo wrote:... If you have to edit a file for each system you run it on and the backups are on the computer and NOT the flash drive, that is not even close to being portable.

I do not want those two folders to be portable.

Would you really want to carry registry and file system backups from Computer A and use them on Computer B?

Would you really want the file cache from Computer A to be the basis for Registry Cleaner fixes on Computer B?
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:02 am

Boofo wrote: ... If you have to edit a file for each system you run it on and the backups are on the computer and NOT the flash drive, that is not even close to being portable.

Anyway, that notepad edit is not on each system.

It only done once to the file in the Settings folder on the memory stick. The specific purpose is to assure the Backups and Cache content remains on the computer to which it pertains.

Only "C." needs to be done for computers after the initial one.
Last edited by tullik on Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby Boofo » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:10 am

I true portable program would have separate backups and cache files for each computer it is run on. But, you are right as you really wouldn't need those anyway if you were going to use the program on more than one computer.

As far as editing any paths even once for each computer it is run on, that breaks the portability in itself. The program should automatically look for relative paths for the drive it is on.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Boofo
Advanced User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:34 am

Boofo wrote:A true portable program would have separate backups and cache files for each computer it is run on. ...

Yes. With respect to the two folders, that is precisely what this technique does.

Boofo wrote: ... As far as editing any paths even once for each computer it is run on, that breaks the portability in itself. The program should automatically look for relative paths for the drive it is on.

The PT programs by default do exactly that.

However, since we want the Backups and Cache folders to stay with the system to which they pertain, we do that edit once. Without the edit, those two folders would be on the memory stick and you don't want that if you want the PT programs and settings there to be usable on more than one computer.
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby Boofo » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:38 am

It could use the computer name of the system it is on as a directory point. Then it would all be automatic. Only then would it be truly portable.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Boofo
Advanced User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby tullik » Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:51 am

Boofo wrote:It could use the computer name of the system it is on as a directory point. Then it would all be automatic. Only then would it be truly portable.

The PT programs' default places the five folders with this notation:

Code: Select all
[ProgramDirs]
Backups=\Backups\
Settings=\Settings\
Cache=\Cache\
Snapshot=\Snapshots\
Tasks=\Tasks\

That is automatic but the resulting application is really only useful for one PC.

Is there an existing notation that does what you suggest?

Suppose there is, let us pretend PT already supports it, and suppose it looks like this:

Code: Select all
[ProgramDirs]
Backups=%PCID%\Backups\
Settings=%PCID%\Settings\
Cache=%PCID%\Cache\
Snapshot=%PCID%\Snapshots\
Tasks=%PCID%\Tasks\

That would give me five sets of the five folders on the memory stick; one set for each of the five PCs where I used it. Of course the memory stick is rather large, maybe 20 to 60 GB.

That is truly portable, but I don't need that. I don't want the Backups and Cache for all five PCs on the memory stick. I also don't need five different Settings folders. Just one Settings folder is all that's needed for all five PCs.

All I want to be portable is the program functionality and the settings.

So, as I said earlier:

tullik wrote:
fsr wrote:Hi, any chance of a portable version? :P

It's not automatic, but you can easily make PowerTools Lite "portable" yourself. ...
tullik
tullik
Super Guru
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: USA, Norge, UK, Canada, Eire

Re: *Portable* PowerTools Lite?

Postby Boofo » Mon Aug 31, 2009 4:02 am

I digress. ;)
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Boofo
Advanced User
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)

Next

Return to PowerTools Lite 2011

cron Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group