Knowledgebase: General
Do I have to uninstall previous version before updating/upgrading?
Posted by Veera Peltonen on 29 March 2012 03:18 PM

The general rule is that you don't have to uninstall the previous versions if you are updating for the latest version. For example, you can always update jv16 PowerTools 2013 by installing the latest version over the old version of 2013.

Installing over the old version allows you to save your backups and settings (in most cases).

If you are upgrading from an earlier version (2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, etc.), it is recommended that you uninstall the older version and save the license to the desktop. You can NOT install the 2013 version over any older version (2012, 2011, 2010, etc.).


Help Desk Software by Kayako Fusion